Snapchat's New Update Is Making People Feel Unsafe, So Here's How To Turn It Off

23 June 2017, 11:52

Snap map
Nicky Idika

By Nicky Idika

People think it's a bit OTT and we don't blame them.

Snapchat has unveiled a new feature they hope will give them the upper hand in the ongoing app wars. The new Snap Map allows users to share their location and view the locations of friends nearby. 

The update was rolled out yesterday (June 22, 2017), but people are already wary about Snap Inc.'s latest offering. 

The teaser for the update highlights the practical uses of Snap Map on a night out, but others are also pointing out that there are more than a few sketchy things about this feature. 

Firstly, there is the slightly less worrying fact that people will be able to see what friends you're with and that may cause drama. 

 Snapchat update tweet 1

via twitter/@Stewart31Sydney

But people are more concerned about the accuracy of the location settings. 

Broadcasting where you are is actually not that great of an idea. And, let's face it. Friends or not, people you interact with on Snapchat don't need to know your exact location for a whole host of reasons. 

That's why people are urging others to use "ghost mode". 

Snapchat update tweet 3

via Twitter/@BellasSpot

How do you turn on "ghost mode" on Snap Maps? 

Snap Maps location is off by default but in case it's unclear: 

Pinch the dashboard screen with two fingers and the map will appear. Once there, navigate to map settings and the option to turn on "ghost" mode will become available. Switch ghost mode from "off" to "on" and there you go. Your location should be hidden. 


Update June 24, 2017

Snapchat reached out to Popbuzz with a statement regarding Snap Maps. 

"The safety of our community is very important to us and we want to make sure that all Snapchatters, parents and educators have accurate information about how the Snap Map works. With Snap Map, location-sharing is off by default for all users and is completely optional. Snapchatters can choose exactly who they want to share their location with, if at all, and can change that setting at any time. It’s also not possible to share your location with someone who isn’t already your friend on Snapchat, and the majority of interactions on Snapchat take place between close friends."