Instagram's Got A Secret Feature And It's A MASSIVE Game Changer

3 February 2017, 13:42 | Updated: 8 May 2017, 17:09

Instagram Unsend Messages
Katie Louise-Smith

By Katie Louise-Smith

For anyone who has ever messaged the wrong person...

Thanks to Cosmo, we've just discovered that Instagram has a sort of low-key feature that has the potential to change and save your actual life and we bet you didn't even realise it existed. 

We've all been there. You've just accidentally sent a message to the ~wrong~ person on Instagram and you're freaking out. 

ABC / via giphy.com

But before you delete your account, change your phone number and move countries, did you know that there's an 'Unsend' option, where you can literally delete the messages you've sent to another person via direct message before they even see it? (If you get there first, that is.)

Here's how to delete a message that you've sent using Instagram Direct, as demonstrated by this very important conversation in my inbox.

Instagram Unsend Direct Messages

Head to Instagram Direct (tap the little paper plane in the top right corner or the homepage) and select the conversation. Go to the message you would desperately like to unsend, tap and hold on the message, and then select 'Unsend'. 

IT'S THAT SIMPLE. Once you unsend a message, it will no longer be visible to people included in the conversation. Gone, forever, vanished, RIP.

But you better act fast - because if the recipient has already seen the message, there's no way to remove it from their memory. If they didn't see it, then go ahead, delete ALL the receipts and pretend like nothing has happened!

via youtube.com