5SOS Won Worst Band For The Third Year In A Row & The Fans Are Partying Hard

James Wilson-Taylor

By James Wilson-Taylor

The boys have done it again and now it's time to party!

5 Seconds Of Summer have taken home the award for Worst Band for the third year in a row at the NME awards in London and the fans are celebrating HARD!!!

As is tradition, the members of 5SOS encouraged their fandom to go out and vote for them to be crowned Worst Band once again, wearing the label as a badge of honour. 

Giphy: Favim

They beat fellow nominees Twenty One Pilots, The Chainsmokers, Nickelback, Honey G and Clean Bandit to take the title.

And now that it's official, 5SOS fans worldwide have started partying it up on social media.






Well done lads, we're so proud. *sheds a single tear*

The 1975 took home Best Live Act at the ceremony and Matty referenced their previous win for Worst Band during his acceptance speech before giving away the statue to a random fan waiting outside. As you do.


Check out the full list of winners from the VO5 NME Awards 2017 below:

Best International Band supported by Austin, Texas – Live Music Capital Of The World: Metallica

Best British Male supported by Pilot Pen Company: Skepta

Best British Female: MIA

Best International Male supported by VO5: Frank Ocean

Best International Female supported by VO5: Christine & The Queens

Best New Artist supported by TOPMAN: Dua Lipa

Best Album supported by HMV: Bastille – 'Wild World'

Best Track supported by Red Stripe: Christine And The Queens – 'Tilted'

Best Live Band supported by Nikon: The 1975

Best Video: Slaves – 'Consume Or Be Consumed'

Best Festival supported by ID&C: Glastonbury

Best Music Film: Oasis: Supersonic

Best TV Series supported by Domino's: Fleabag

Best Film: My Scientology Movie

Music Moment Of The Year: Coldplay's Viola Beach tribute at Glastonbury

Best Festival Headliner: Adele

Best Small Festival: End Of The Road

Villain Of The Year: Nigel Farage

Hero Of The Year: Beyoncé

Worst Band: 5 Seconds Of Summer

Best Reissue: Oasis – 'Be Here Now'