Ariana Grande's New Album 'Sweetener': Release Date, Tracklist And Everything We Know So Far

12 July 2018, 10:12 | Updated: 12 July 2018, 10:16

By Marianne Eloise

Ariana Grande
Ariana Grande. Picture: Instagram

Ariana Grande has been teasing her new album for a few weeks – here's everything we know

It’s been two years since Ariana Grande’s Dangerous Woman, and in that time she’s been through a lot. Recently, (April 20), Ariana released “No Tears Left To Cry”, a single accompanied by a stunning video that was her first new music since the terrorist attack at her concert in Manchester last year which left 22 people dead.

“No Tears Left To Cry” is a triumphant, hopeful anthem about Ariana’s return to happiness after the attack. Now, Ariana is teasing other details about the album – some of which were alluded to in the video for “No Tears Left To Cry”.

Since then, Ariana has confirmed that her fourth studio album will be called Sweetener and it will be released this August. On (June 20th) Ariana shared the album artwork alongside the promo single 'The Light Is Coming (feat. Nicki Minaj)'.

Tomorrow she will released the album's second single 'God Is A Woman'.

pre-order @sweetener on @applemusic ♡

A post shared by Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) on


Here's everything we know so far about the record.

1) When will the album be out?

Speaking on The Tonight Show, Ariana said that her album would be “coming this summer”. She said that she would be doing something “special” on every 20th of the month leading up to the release, adding that “there’s only like three 20s until the big thing” which would give the album a release date of July or August, It has now been confirmed that the album will drop August 20th.

2) What will the album be called?

Ariana revealed that the album is called Sweetener and it is “about bringing light to a situation or to someone’s life or when somebody else brings lighto your life. Sweetening the situation”.

3) How many albums does Ariana Grande have so far?

Ariana Grande has had three albums so far. Yours Truly in 2013, My Everything in 2014, and 2016’s Dangerous Woman.


4) What was her last release?

Ariana hasn’t had a new album since 2016’s Dangerous Woman.

5) How many tracks will the album have?

Ariana included a photo of a tracklist in the video for “No Tears Left To Cry” – it showed nine songs not including the first single. However since then Ariana has confirmed that the album will have 15 tracks.

6) What are the tracks called?

Ariana has slowly revealed the track titles via social media. In no particular order, they are: 'No Tears Left To Cry', 'R.E.M.', 'Raindrops', 'Successful', 'Borderline', 'God Is A Woman', 'Everytime', 'The Light Is Coming', 'Sweetener', 'Blazed', 'Better Off', 'Breathing', 'Get Well Soon', 'Goodnight N Go' and 'Pete'.


7) What's the next single?

Ariana will release the next single 'God Is A Woman' tomorrow along with it's video and there are already rumours that it features or samples Madonna because of a tweet Ariana posted yesterday. We cannot wait to find out if it does.

8) Will anyone else feature on the album?

Sweetener features Pharrell Williams ('Blazed'), Missy Elliott ('Borderline') and Nicki Minaj ('The Light Is Coming'). Ariana has previously mentioned that there are only three guests on the album so we think that's it.

However, British Vogue stated in an interview that Dua Lipa is on the album and Skepta also features on one of the songs '"I think a lot of people have anxiety, especially right now," she says, as a pounding guest appearance from Skepta concludes'.

The 'No Tears Left To Cry' video also featured the initials TS in it which has led fans to believe that either Troye Sivan or Taylor Swift could be on the album and now there are the Madonna rumours so some major Ariana duets could be on their way.

9) Which songs have music videos?

So far there are visuals for 'No Tears Left to Cry' and 'The Light Is Coming'. The 'God Is A Woman' video will come out tomorrow.

Ariana Grande - no tears left to cry

Ariana Grande - the light is coming ft. Nicki Minaj

What a woman.