Little Mix's new album: Everything we know about 'LM5' so far

26 October 2018, 14:57 | Updated: 26 October 2018, 15:01

By Sam Prance

'LM5' release date, tracklist and rumours...

Anticipation for Little Mix's new album is sky high. After literally doubling their record sales with their Glory Days era (the girls have now sold over 34 million records worldwide), winning their first BRIT award ('Shout Out to My Ex' won British Single in 2017) and going on the fifth highest grossing tour in girl group history (The Glory Days Tour was iconic), Jesy, Jade, Perrie and Leigh-Anne have become one of the biggest acts in music.

Little Mix and Nicki Minaj's new single 'A Woman Like Me' has inspired the most amazing memes

Thankfully, we don't have long at all to wait before LM5 comes out. The project's lead single 'Woman Like Me' is already out, and topping charts worldwide, and the girls are due to drop the full LP before the year is over. Not only that but the X Factor winners have also teased lots of exciting information about the project. With that in mind, we have sleuthed and gathered it all in one place for you to enjoy.

Little Mix 'LM5': Release date, tracklist and rumours
Little Mix 'LM5': Release date, tracklist and rumours. Picture: Syco

When will Little Mix release LM5?

Little Mix took to Twitter on October 15th to reveal that LM5 is dropping November 16th. The girls also unveiled the stunning cover art which sees Little Mix strip things back as they strut down the streets of London. It is giving us hit BBC meets HBO drama vibes and we are living for it.

The album will be available to pre-order Friday October 19th.

What is LM5 called?

After months of speculation, Little Mix finally revealed that LM5 is literally called LM5. In a tweet, the girls revealed: "We love how you’ve named each of our eras over the years. So we’ve decided to call our next album... LM5".

How many singles will LM5 have?

Little Mix - Woman Like Me (Official Video) ft. Nicki Minaj

Little Mix released 'Woman Like Me' as the first single from the new album on October 12th and released its music video on October 26th. However, considering that Glory Days had five singles, we reckon that LM5 will have plenty too. According to @siwickigiggle, the girls have already shot three music videos for the project and even co-directed one of them. We think that this means that at least three singles have already been chosen or two and one instant grat.

Speaking to Noisey, the band revealed that the second single will be called "Strip" (we're obsessed already) and, according to Jesy, it will be a "fan-favourite". Also one of the videos apparently features difficult choreography. It sounds like the girls are about to give us another 'Move'/'Touch' esque banger.

The band's Cheat Codes collaboration 'Only You' will feature on the deluxe edition of the album.

Will there be any collaborations on LM5?

It's already been revealed that 'Woman Like Me' features the incredible Nicki Minaj. The girls have wanted to work with Nicki for years so we've got our hopes high for the rest of the LM5 collaborations. @siwickigiggle is back at it with the tea. In her listening party, the girls apparently stated that there will be multiple female collaborations and in interviews the girls have since said that LM5 will only feature female collaborations.

The girls have since announced that Missy Elliott protégé Sharaya J features on their song 'Strip'. Apparently the girls chose Sharaya specifically because she is a breast cancer survivor and her story fits in with the themes of the song. We can't wait to hear it. Kamille also features on the record on 'More than Words'. Kamille has co-written huge Little Mix hits including 'Black Magic' and 'Shout Out to My Ex'.

There were also rumours that the girls had worked with Ariana Grande and Normani but they don't appear on the track-list as is. Nevertheless, Little Mix are prone to adding features to their singles so we wouldn't rule out either of them working with the group later in the era.

What will LM5 sound like?

LM5 is going to be Little Mix's most mature work yet. The girls have mentioned in multiple interviews that the album is about feminism and that they want the record the empower women and their LGBTQ+ fans. In August, the girls teased a song on Instagram with the refrain: "I don't need a man, I put my own rock on my hand" (iconic). It sounds like a Pharrell esque R&B pop banger but still very Little Mix. The girls are not messing around.

In their Noisey interview, the girls confirmed that there is going to be a song on LM5 called 'Woman's World'. Jade co-wrote it with her boyfriend Jed Elliott (The Struts) and it's inspired by the #MeToo movement. It contains the lyric "“If you’ve never had to struggle to be heard / you haven’t lived in a woman’s world.” There's also apparently "a bouncing, maximalist pop track with lyrics about loving your body and jiggling your tits".

On October 24th Perrie shared a snippet of the deluxe track 'Forget Me Not' and it sounds like a banger.

The 'Black Magic' hitmakers have also had a huge hand in writing for the album and said that it is their most personal work to date. They've written with people including MNEK, RAYE and Timbaland to name just a few.

It is rumoured that the LP will also feature more rapping and be pop with R&B leanings. If anything, it sounds like LM5 will be an evolution of Little Mix's sound to date and we cannot wait to hear it.

How many tracks will LM5 have?

On Twitter, Jesy, Jade, Leigh-Anne and Perrie announced that the standard edition of LM5 will feature an amazing 14 tracks. There will also be a deluxe edition with "4 exclusive tracks, new pics and a hardback CD book" and a super deluxe edition with "exclusive artwork, new pics and handwritten notes in a hardback book". Iconic.

The tracks are as follows:

1) National Manthem

2) Woman Like Me (feat. Nicki Minaj)

3) Think About Us

4) Strip (feat. Sharaya J)

5) Monster In Me

6) Joan of Arc

7) Love a Girl Right

8) American Boy

9) Told You So

10) Wasabi

11) More Than Words (feat. Kamille)

12) Motivate

13) Notice

14) The Cure

15) Forget You Not

16) Woman's World

17) The Cure (Stripped)

18) Only You (with Cheat Codes)

We are about to be blessed with a whole slew of new bangers, ballads and bops.

Will Little Mix tour LM5?

Yes. The girls love touring and they plan on making the LM5 tour their biggest tour to date. The girls took to Twitter to reveal that they will perform 21 dates in the UK at the end of 2019 including three nights in the O2 arena. However, response was so popular that they added three extra dates after the pre-sale.

They've also hinted that they will be performing in countries that they've never been to before and heading to the US. Little Mix are going global.

We shall keep you informed as soon as there are any more official LM5 announcements.